<< Back to listings

AAMI Victoria Derby Day

Gates open:
First Race:
Last Race:
Flemington Racecourse


'The day for racing purists'

Considered by many to be the most prestigious day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, AAMI Victoria Derby Day embodies a world of glamour and sophistication – only to be matched by an impressive day of all black type races.

All the action and excitement starts with high racing stakes with four races at the elite Group 1 level. For the winners of the Longines Mackinnon Stakes and Lexus Stakes, it provides the opportunity for last minute entry into the coveted Emirates Melbourne Cup field. The feature race of the day is the Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby boasting impressive prize money of over $1 million.

The fashion stakes are equally high with the commencement of the Myer Fashions on the Field competition for women and men. This is the day for classic elegance, which sets the pace for the entire week.

Traditionally, black and white has been prominent colour scheme for women, while men often choose a morning suit, peacock vest and pin-stripe pants. Among Melbourne’s social circles, the day is renowned as a must attend on the event calendar and an unmissable social outing for friends, corporates and celebrities. 

As the curtain raiser of this unrivalled week, AAMI Victoria Derby Day is abuzz with anticipation for what Flemington has in store for the week ahead.

The official flower for AAMI Victoria Derby Day is the cornflower and can be purchased from flower sellers near the entrances, upon arrival to Flemington. 

The races

Race number Race time Name Race value Group level Type Distance
1 11.30am Carbine Club Stakes $201,500 Gr. 3 3YO SW&P  1600m
2 12.10pm Racing. com Wakeful Stakes $302,000 Gr. 2 3YO Fillies SW&P  2000m
3 12.50pm Yellowglen Stakes  $201,500 Gr. 3 Hcp  1400m
4 1.30pm Coolmore Stud Stakes $502,500 Gr. 1 3YO SW  1200m
5 2.15pm Lexus Stakes $301,500 Gr. 3 Qlty Hcp 2500m
6 3.00pm Longines Mackinnon Stakes $1,002,500 Gr. 1 WFA  2000m
7 3.45pm AAMI Victoria Derby $1,510,000 Gr. 1 3YO SW  2500m
8 4.30pm Myer Classic $502,500 Gr. 1 F&M WFA  1600m
9 5.15pm tab.com.au Stakes $302,000 Gr. 2 Hcp  1200m 

On release, details for nomination, handicap weights and acceptances can be found below. 

The races

Tickets & pricing

General AdmissionReserved Grandstand Seating and The Precinct tickets for 2014 Melbourne Cup Carnival are on sale via Ticketek.

Tickets are also available from Ticketek by phoning 13 28 49 or by visiting any Ticketek Agency. Ticketek Mobile Ticket and ezyTicket is also available for your convenience.

Stay tuned for launch dates of the Melbourne Cup Carnival ticket booth at Federation Square (Melbourne CBD) and availability of General Admission tickets from Flinders Street, Southern Cross and North Melbourne train stations.

The Melbourne Cup Carnival is a fully ticketed event. All tickets must be pre-purchased before your arrival at Flemington. 

>> Visit Ticketek's website or our Melbourne Cup Carnival website for more information. 

VRC Members prices for 2014 Melbourne Cup Carnival are available on VRC website. If you require any further information, phone Customer Service on 1300 727 575.

>> Become a VRC Member!

    More information

    Your Melbourne Cup Carnival experience:

    Getting to Flemington

    • Special trains will run direct to Flemington racecourse during the 2014 Melbourne Cup Carnival. Details will be updated once released by Metro Trains.
    • Plan your journey with the Public Transport Victoria's Journey Planner

    You can also take the Craigieburn line to Newmarket Station and then it is a short 10 minute walk to Flemington or jump on the 57 tram. 

    The 57 tram from Elizabeth Street in Melbourne CBD also travels to Flemington (20-35 minute journey, depending on traffic). Check Yarra Trams website or Public Transport Victoria's website for timetables. 

    More information